Who We Are

The Holy Spirit Catholic Multi Academy Company comprises of four primary schools and one secondary school serving the catchment area of North Warwickshire. The schools are:
  • Our Lady and St Joseph Catholic Academy, Nuneaton
  • St Anne’s Catholic Academy, Nuneaton
  • St Benedict’s Catholic Academy, Atherstone
  • St Francis Catholic Academy, Bedworth
  • St Thomas More Catholic Academy and Sixth Form College, Nuneaton

The total potential combined pupil population of the Holy Spirit Catholic Multi Academy Company is 2,146. The actual pupil population on roll as recorded in the school census on October 2019 stood at 2,133.

The board of directors are appointed by the founder members of the MAC, the Barberi Newman Trust. The board of directors comprises:
  •  5 Foundation Directors


Senior Executive Principal

Sinead Smith
Senior Executive Principal / Accounting Officer
Original Director Appointment: 15/03/2015
Senior Executive Principal Appointment: January 2018

Governance Structure


Board of Directors Structure


Company Information

Registered Company Number: 09432692

To view our details on the governements 'Get Information about Schools' site please click here -

The Holy Spirit Catholic MAC

To view our details held with Companies House please click here -

The Holy Spirt Catholic MAC Companies House

Declarations of Interests for all Directors and ESC members can be found here -

Declaration of Pecuniary Interests 2020-21

Attendance at Board Meetings can be found here -

Board Meeting Attendance 2020-21

Attendance at ESC Meetings can be found here -

ESC Meeting Attendance 2020-21

MAC Directors

Jim Foley
Date of Appointment: 18/09/2015 - 15/09/2023 (Reappointment 17/09/2019)

Jim joined the Holy Spirt MAC in September 2015 and became Chair in July 2016. Jim is a retired Secondary Headteacher from Birmingham and brings a wealth of knowledge to the MAC.
Jim is also Chair of the Strategy Committee, and a member of the Standards Committee.

Avril Staley
Vice Chair
Date of Appointment: 15/03/2015

Avril joined the board of directors following conversion in 2015. Avril is a HR professional, specialising in leadership development and coaching.  Avril is a member of the Standards & Strategy Committee.

Darren Riddell
Foundation Director
Date of Appointment: 16/10/2017 - 15/10/2021

Darren has been a member of the Board since Oct 2017. Darren currenlty works at Jaguar Land Rover as a Purchasing Manager and brings his experience of Commercial Activities and Project Management to the Board.

Darren is a member of the Finance and Audit Committees.

Richard Pitt
Co-Opt Director
Date of Appointment: 01/09/2017 - 31/08/2021

Richard Pitt has been a long standing member of the St Thomas More LAC and joined the board as a co-opt director in September 2017. Richard, now retired, worked for NHS and brings experience in finance and procurement to the board.

Richard is a member of the Finance and Audit Committees.

Kate Walewska
Foundation Director
Date of Appointment: 17/05/2021 - 15/05/2025

Kate has been a Foundation Representative at St Thomas More School since October 2019. Kate works for University of Leicester as a Deputy Director and brings her 18 years’ experience of Business and Marketing in the Education sector to the main Board


Foundation Director

‘with grace and humility, glorify the Lord by your Life'

© 2017 The Holy Spirit Catholic MAC

Website designed by The School Print Company - Specialist in design and print for schools